Skip to content

In the Beginning

April 1, 2010

Today I am precisely half-way through with the first week of my third term of graduate school, which isn’t much of a marker numerically, so more importantly, it is the day I started my academic blog!  I was an avid LiveJournal user in high school, and I’ve kept up with some LJ communities as a lurker.  While LJ is good fun, I was intrigued by the idea of an academic blog, and WordPress seemed to be the place for it.

I thought I would begin with some background.  I earned my bachelor’s in English at the University of Oregon, with a minor in Women’s and Gender Studies.  I took an Intro to Folklore course as an undergraduate and fell in love.  I spent my last year as an undergrad finishing up my minor and earning a Folklore certificate.  While my undergrad work is a little embarrassing to read now, I gained a lot of experience researching and discussing folklore, and some limited experience with fieldwork.  The topic I researched most extensively was MTV’s Jackass as Bakhtinian carnival, although I also wrote research papers about the LJ community Brutal_Honesty, lolcats as memorials on Fark.com, mockery and consumption in zombie narratives, and vernacular religious belief in The Simpsons.

I’m also taking courses in Arts and Administration, and continuing with Gender Studies in addition to Folklore.  Arts and Admin has been a whole new world for me, and I’m just now feeling less intimidated.  I’ve learned a great deal about grant writing so far, and it’s opened up a lot of career possibilities I hadn’t previously considered.  I’m hoping to use this webspace as a way to organize my goals and ideas, and maybe even network a little.

So, hello.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

